Skip to content

John Singer Sargent and Diego Velasquez

2011/12/06

. . .

John Singer Sargent - The Daughters of Edward Darley Boit, 1882

. . .

Diego Velasquez, 1656

. . .

For Luke, Steven and Maggie. (Sorry that I haven’t posted any Retro Rule Five genre offerings as of late. When I saw this work by Sargent I was reminded of Velasquez’ marvel I’d seen at the Prado. Had to share! Cheers – Ed.)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Libertarian Advocate permalink
    2011/12/06 23:28

    Who’s Luke?

    This is indeed beautiful art RAN, but being a rather pedestrian fellow who’d never in a million years be elected president I like the more revealing stuff. How ’bout some Rule 5 stuff matey?

    See you in the week before the new year then? Perhaps we can raise a Hannukah brew together in our usual haunt. Poor Submissionists; they’ve no idea what they’re missing.

    • 2011/12/07 00:14

      Hey LA! Yeah, worked on Rule Five a bit last night. There are a few great sketches – charcoal and pencil works in the hopper.

      Ale. Yeh. I’ll ship an email with the dates. Cheers.

  2. 2011/12/08 10:45

    Beautiful work here, esp by one of my all-time favorites, J.S. Sargent. I know the painting is about the girls, but for me, those little reflections on the urns are what make the painting.

    Incidentally, I got to see a caravaggio while I was in Syracusa last week.

    • 2011/12/08 13:22

      Hey Steven,
      Agreed. Yes. Good point – How flat would the space be without those reflections? I hope to see the painting sometime.

      BTW, out local art museum has an entire show centered around a Caravaggio on loan from somewhere. It’s the only one “in stock” as it were, so I’m hoping my wife will take a day off work and we’ll play hookie. (I ribbed my daughter, who’s seen it, if it wasn’t a forgery by his younger brother Gara Vaggio. Heh. No, she likes it.)

  3. 2011/12/08 19:11

    I hope you get to see it, and I hope it’s well-lit. The one in Syracusa is hard to see the way it’s displayed. Still, it was worth the trip.

  4. 2011/12/19 16:32

    I missed your original email ran, but am putting you in with Bonnie and Daneila. No apologies necessary!

Trackbacks

  1. Rule 5 Saturday Night: Bonnie Jill Laflin – Conservative ESPN Star | Maggie's Notebook
  2. Rule 5 Saturday Night: Daniela Pestova | Maggie's Notebook
  3. Rule 5 Saturday Night: Yesica Toscanini | Maggie's Notebook
  4. Rule 5 Saturday Night: All Swimsuts for a Warm Winter | Maggie's Notebook
  5. Rule 5 Saturday Night Cowgirls, Cowboys and a Couple of Six Packs | Maggie's Notebook
  6. John Singer Sargent: Rosina, 1878 « Si Vis Pacem

Leave a Reply

