Skip to content

InstaPundit: Science & What Makes You Fat

2013/08/21

SCIENCE: Rigorously controlled studies may soon give us a definitive answer about what causes obesity—excessive calories or the wrong carbohydrates.

My own sense is that carbs tend to make you hungrier, which leads to excessive calories.”  Uh-huh.

Not buying this even from a smart guy like Reynolds.  Obesity isn’t the fault of spoons either, though MAIG & Brady Campaign would probably make the case.

The fault is undisciplined eating.  If one consumes more than one burns, one will gain weight. It’s math.  “Wrong carbohydrates” my pale, skinny butt.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 2013/08/21 22:06

    Interesting article: http://www.forbes.com/sites/melaniehaiken/2013/08/21/the-real-secret-to-losing-weight-from-a-top-expert/?partner=yahoofeed

    I can tell you that I can eat around the same calories and if I bias it with more protein, it seems I will drop more fat given a particular and relatively consistent calories burned versus calories taken in. I will also build more muscle if I am working out. I will also say that in general, americans eat way too much sugar. Our consumption has tripled in the last 100 or so years and it shows. On top of this, humans in first world countries aren’t as active as they used to be too. Too much sugar + less exercise=getting fatter. It may be a fine point of difference from what you are saying, but it is a little different. I would also say genetics can play a part in why some people gain weight or not easily. I know skinny people that no matter how hard they work out and supplement, they can’t pack on muscle. I haven’t had that problem, but the other way and what has worked for me in not putting on fat when trying to put on muscle is more protein and fewer carbs. I know it’s anecdotal, but it’s a fairly common phenomena. If you are into sports/nutrition/athletic stuff, read Will Brink. He has some insight into this.

  2. Libertarian Advocate permalink
    2013/08/22 15:33

    Have some cream cheese with those lox and that bagel duuuude!

  3. 2013/10/06 17:55

    I only eat carbs on the weekend and I feel like crap by Sunday afternoon. I know from personal experience that the whole “calories in, calories out” paradigm is bullshit. The human body is not designed to eat flour and sugar. I pretty much eat nothing but meat and eggs and feel better than I ever have. Plus my weight is remarkably stable. I weigh pretty much exactly 200 pounds no matter what. Some days it might be 197 if I’ve really been busting it, and it might get to 202, but it’s never outside that range and I eat quite a lot.

    • 2013/10/06 19:04

      Sure you’re not 62% dire wolf?

      : ]

    • 2013/10/06 23:13

      I think one of my legs weighs 197lbs. 🙂 I agree about the protein. If I work a lot or workout, the more I slant my diet to protein, the faster my recovery and the better I feel. The problem for me is getting enough complete protein if I am hitting it hard.

Leave a Reply

