Skip to content

Roger L. Simon: The Culture Wars are Turning

2010/05/25

Indeed.

I have been thinking for a while that the Culture Wars are turning and that the pervasive “libo-progressivism” of our Kultur is moving slowly rightward, but several reports of the last few days have convinced me this is happening more quickly than I had imagined.

“…But the media, that never vetted [Obama] and have given him a pass on virtually everything, are attacking him now. Why?

“They sense — and Woody and Friedman sense with a different reaction — that the Culture Wars are turning. It’s partly the Tea Parties, but it’s more than that. It’s the zeitgeist. The times, they are definitely a-changin’. Liberalism, as we have known it for decades, is on the defensive. With the welfare state unsustainable, it has nowhere to turn and its adherents are turning tail in every direction. They are mad and they are, in many cases, unmoored. Lifetime ideologies are beginning to crumble. Personality constructs are at risk.

I’m a cynic who thinks that the MSM can’t ignore any longer the stench of corruption from the Chicago Machine.  They know they must either go against it or go down with it. It started with Walpingate. Then Sestak and the job offer. The connections to the CCX. Much, much more. They know, too, that the stench is being connected to their beloved political ideologies.

The thing is, there isn’t an ounce of credibility or competence in domestic policy or foreign policy for the MSM to pretend they’re protecting. They’re being used and left in the street, naked. If I were the Old Gray Lady, one foot in debt, the other foot in the grave… I’d take a look towards the sunlight, too.

In completely unrelated news: The Economy Still Sucks And It’s Finally Headed Downwards.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 2010/05/25 13:26

    Hey Ran: I feel (and I’m fairly sure I’m not alone in this) alternatively very optimistic that the tide has fully turned against the “progressive” ideologues, but then, when I read about the subjects of my own last two posts, I can become rather dejected about the possibility of a turn-around.

    As of now I’m not sure I will feel comfortable that there is a real and lasting shift away from progressive corporatist ideology until November 3rd finally dawns and we are able to see just how many political corpses document the shift.

    Its going to be a long five months.

  2. 2010/05/25 17:14

    LA,
    You’re right – I hope not to sound as if I’m doing the Snoopy dance in the end-zone. The ball is still on our own 5-yard line. Thing is, it was on the 4 yard line last week. Yeah, this is going to be a long five months.

Leave a comment