Skip to content

Jules-Joseph Lefebvre and the Classical Mood

2010/09/22

Jules-Joseph Lefebvre was born on March 14th, 1836… and lived to produce some of the most iconic images of the 19th century.

Here we introduce two of his finest works: ‘Graziella’ of 1878 and (below the break)  ‘Odalisque’ of 1874 to illustrate Lefebvre’s draughtsmanship and his love of the Classical.

. . .

Jules-Joseph Lefebvre: Graziella, 1878 © 2000–2010 The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

. . .

Jules-Joseph Lefebvre: Odalisque, 1874

. . .

ArtCyclopedia as more on Lefebvre here, via links to paintings in museums and collections.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. themadjewess permalink
    2010/09/22 18:19

    Some paintings.. The images of women back then- so pleasing to the eyes, of both male and female alike.

    I love a little known artist of his time; George Romney.
    This blogger has a great synopsis and paintings:

    http://byricardomarcenaroi.blogspot.com/2010/03/lady-hamilton-emy-lyon-paintings-about.html

    I also love Edmund Blair Leighton:
    http://tinyurl.com/26swpkd

    Maxfield Parrish, a French Jew:
    http://tinyurl.com/2us3v7p

    And my favorite modern painter- he is a Catholic that loves Joan Of Arc:

    http://www.manuelnunezart.com/

    I LOVE Art. I have met many artist when I was living in Carmel, CALI- what a place that was- artist capital of the world.
    I am not a ‘multi-culture’ moron, just “Cultured”
    😀
    I LOVE all types of music too, I grew up with art and music all around me, I thank G-d every day that I had a Nana and Mom that were so eccentric- AND sane…Too bad my “JAP” sister didnt have any sanity rub off on her, as well as my brother who converted to some super crazy, convert NOW Churchianity.
    UGH!

    • 2010/09/22 19:32

      Chag Someach, MJ!

      Succoth is almost here. Just putting the lights up now, inside.

      Many, many thanks for the links and art info. Shall be useful… Our Retro Rule 5 collection has expanded somewhat. Most appreciated!

      Ran

  2. themadjewess permalink
    2010/09/22 19:46

    Kol Tov 😀

    TY

    Isaiah 52

    א עוּרִי עוּרִי לִבְשִׁי עֻזֵּךְ, צִיּוֹן: לִבְשִׁי בִּגְדֵי תִפְאַרְתֵּךְ, יְרוּשָׁלִַם עִיר הַקֹּדֶשׁ–כִּי לֹא יוֹסִיף יָבֹא-בָךְ עוֹד, עָרֵל וְטָמֵא. 1
    Awake, awake, put on thy strength, O Zion; put on thy beautiful garments, O Jerusalem, the holy city; for henceforth there shall no
    more come into thee the uncircumcised and the unclean.

  3. themadjewess permalink
    2010/09/22 19:54

    You know what is amazing to me? That I am alive to witness that Israel is a state, true that their govt sucks, thats a no brainer, but what an awesome thing to see Jews wearing all things holy, while praying Daven- during wartime.

    Who would have thought that I would be alive to see these things that, for CENTURIES were only told to us in Torah, Tanach.. Amazing watching this video, seeing prophecy that the world does not GET come to pass.

  4. themadjewess permalink
    2010/09/22 19:57

    I LOVE that you support the JPFO. I, myself am a Kahanist- “Every Jew a 22” Rabbi Kahane.

    I have a 22 magnum and a .357 Winchester, among shotguns and rifles.
    I may be in the galut, but I plan to stay alive until I am released to go to my homeland to die a little later on.

  5. themadjewess permalink
    2010/09/22 19:59

    Oh, u will love this, then I will leave u be- it is me singing for the JTF.ORG – I help the Hayamin movement, the Kahanist movement for Israel, so that they turn to G-d and move right wing to survive with singing- it is a BIG movement in Israel that burns Obamas images 🙂 LOL
    Jews just wanna Have Guns:

  6. themadjewess permalink
    2010/09/23 02:36

    AMEN; NEVER AGAIN, not for me!
    “Good Golly Israeli”
    LOL

  7. themadjewess permalink
    2010/09/23 02:38

    Anyway, I wont bother you anymore LOL

    XOXOXO
    AsheDina

  8. themadjewess permalink
    2010/09/23 02:39

    One more – hahah 😀
    “Imagine No More Islam”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMC1zR1_ka8

Trackbacks

  1. How About A Little Breather… « The Camp Of The Saints

Leave a Reply

